Nothin’ Doin’

If there’s nothing going on should I still write? If I subscribed to the ESPN school of thought, then yes. Doing what I do for a living there’s ample time to listen to the radio and usually I get a few hours of sports in my ears each day. I enjoy it, usually. There’s basketball, hockey, and offseason news and rumors in baseball and football. It passes the time. But for the last three days I’ve been listening less and less. I think a lot of people have been. Here’s how a lot of people put it “I’m so sick of Brett Favre this and Brett Favre that.” I understand the sentiment, but it’s not really Brett Favre they’re sick of. It’s ESPN that they’re sick of.

Yeah, Favre is a legend in Wisconsin and beyond. Yeah, Favre is a lock for the Hall of Fame. Yeah Favre looks better than you in a pair of Wranglers, but its not his fault ESPN covered nothing but him for the past few days. It’s ESPN’s fault. It’s lazy journalism. Instead of making the Favre story a two minute segment every half hour or hour they turned it into a 72 hour event. It’s not Favre you should be upset at, it’s ESPN.

I know (and so do the guys at the GNC) that the NCAA regular season is almost over, and that conference tournaments are around the corner. In my mind that’s the biggest story. Who’s in, who’s out, who’s on the bubble. That’s interesting. That’s worthy of a 20+ minutes an hour. Who’s locked up a one seed, who could get boned out of a 2 or 3 seed, these are topics of interest. Not to mention good promotion for upcoming network content.

Oh, and I almost forgot that people still play hockey professionally. HeavESPN forbid that I should get to watch highlights of my favorite sport-no-one-else-cares-about. We don’t have a pro team in WI, and since Vs. is the only channel to regularly carry games, and most of those take place when I work, and Sirius is no longer the NHL’s broadcast partner, I get dick in the way of puck. All because it would be more difficult to package some fresh highlights than it is to run an hour long Favre retrospective, followed by a half hour of punditry on the Favre highlights, followed by two hours of sports (and half of that is steriods/spygate non-news) crammed into half an hour. Wash, Rinse, Repeat.

In case you were wondering, yes, there are guys playing baseball south of the Mason-Dixon line in a little thing called “Spring Training”. But who really wants to do any work and talk about lineup controversies, who’s poised to breakout, and which teams are poised to trade? We got it made this week, Favre retired, queue the tape we made three years ago in case of Favre retirement. It made me think of this…

So what the Fuck, ESPN, are you going to cover the Favre story, or the rest of the wide world of sports?  Let me know when you learn how to multitask, I’ll be watching The Wire.

2 Responses to Nothin’ Doin’

  1. […] evenchunkiermonkey wrote a fantastic post today on “Nothinâ Doinâ”Here’s ONLY a quick extractHere’s how a lot of people put it “I’m so sick of Brett Favre this and Brett Favre that.” I understand the sentiment, but it’s not really Brett Favre they’re sick of. It’s ESPN that they’re sick of. Yeah, Favre is a legend in Wisconsin … […]

  2. Elvi Patterson! says:

    Gerald Ford eaten by wolves..to quote the wolves,”HE WAS…DELICIOUS!”

    one of my favorite Dana Carvey sketches. The only thing I care about with Hockey is if Satan is still playing.

Leave a Reply

